#BeWoW – Diary of a Quirky Girl, 4.03.2015

OK, this is the first time I’m participating in the #BeWow blogshare started by RonovanWrites. BeWoW stands for Be Wonderful on Wednesday. The idea is to post something nice or wonderful on Wednesdays to brighten up someone’s day. It could be a  wonderful experience, a fond memory, something inspirational or motivational, etc.

Today, I’d like to add my third instalment of my experimental diary writing as part of the #BeWoW blogshare. 🙂

Diary of a Quirky Girl, 4.03.2015

Here’s the blog post in plain text, in case you don’t like reading it in the coloured background above:

Wednesday, 4.03.2015

Exercise was never my kind of thing when I was young. I was an awkward kid who twisted both ankles fairly regularly, so much so that my ankles finally built resistance to getting twisted. Nowadays, after I trip and fall, or just twist an ankle, I can just get up, shake the seemingly hurt ankle, do my weird kicking motion, and it’ll be just fine.

In Form 4, an English teacher told me nonchalantly that I was a late bloomer. Thinking back, I had the amusing thought that this probably encompassed my interest in the unrelated topic of exercise as well. My interest started at 30, when I registered for my first yoga class on 26 September 2006. I think discovering yoga was almost like falling in love. It was something that fascinated me; I see it in magazines, on TV and on websites. I’ve wanted to try it for ages, but never did. Of course, the first few weeks could only be described as the most daunting physical challenge of my life. I could not fathom tying myself into knots, standing on my head, or doing the handstand. Some days, I would just feel exhausted, but on other days, I felt queasy. It was all I could do to keep from puking towards the end of class. But I kept at it, and little by little, my body stopped fighting it and accepted the practice. After that, it felt good and energizing. In relaxing classes with breathing exercises, stretching and meditation, I would emerge totally calm and relaxed. It’s something great I look forward to at the end of a tiring work day. It’s been eight years and counting, and my interest in yoga has continued unabated. Although I can never accomplish some of the anti-gravity and mind-boggling poses, I am satisfied knowing that the practice has contributed to a happier and healthier me.

Then, I developed an interest in walkathons. I signed up for the 7-km Kordel’s Walk for Healthy Joints in 2011 and never looked back since. I signed up for all manner of walkathons – the usual distances were 3 km, 5km and 7km. Of course, as with a new physical challenge, it was hard the first few years, but I got progressively better at it.

The ultimate challenge arrived on the day I decided to join a run. I’ll admit that I hated running. I had the fear that I would fall and hurt myself, as in my school days. But sign up, I did. The first run I signed up for was the famous Energizer Night Race 2014, 7 months ago, in August 2014. The first thing that attracted me was the free headlamp. Ha-ha… Yes, I was enticed to join a run by a headlamp. I laugh at the memory till this day. I practised for it for a few weeks, walking and jogging from 3 km to 5 km in the evenings. Since it was my first race, and I was certain that I was in no danger of winning anything, I decided to sign up for the shortest distance (5 km) and do my best to not finish last. It turned out to be extremely challenging and exciting. In its 4th year, the run attracted 15,000 participants and we lit up the night with my little headlamps. No, I’m not embarrassed to admit that I walk and jog. It’s a race, but that doesn’t mean we need to run the whole way. My objective is to live an active and healthy lifestyle, and so far, it’s been great. At 37, I overcame my fear of running and falling flat on my face, and did not finish last. Hurray! 😀

About khorhmin

Just a curious girl, Feeling my way, Through life in a twirl, Enjoying each and every day. Moving fast, in a swirl Each and every day Publishing is my world Writing, editing, yay!
This entry was posted in #BeWoW, Autobiographical, Diary of a Quirky Girl and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #BeWoW – Diary of a Quirky Girl, 4.03.2015

  1. This is a very fun piece of writing. I liked the sheet background, but good idea to offer both choices. Now to read your Haiku…

  2. pattyalcala says:

    You must be so proud of yourself. Congratulations.

  3. Kat says:

    Congrats! These are milestones in life to experience and celebrate. Good on ya, girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

