Beacon & Field

I just came back from a 10-day trip to Taiwan last Friday, and returned with over 820 photos taken with my trusty Canon 60D. I just love the photos taken with this camera, and the fast shutter speed is just awesome. I’m not into taking ‘selfies’ or ‘wefies’, but opt instead for nature, scenery and macro shots. In the city, I like to dabble in a bit of street photography to showcase the hustle and bustle of metropolitan life. More often than not, my photos remind me not only of the place, time and people, but also evoke some of the feelings from that point in time.

For RonovanWrites Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt Challenge #36, the prompt words were Field and Beacon. I was inspired by springtime in Taiwan and the many beautiful flowers blossoming in profusion to write this week’s haiku. In fact, it stars the famous daffodil. 🙂

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

Daffodils

Like beacons in fields
Snowy white with yellow lips
Heralding springtime

A springtime haiku by
Khor Hui Min
22 March 2015

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

My favourite daffodil poem from my student days is by William Wordsworth (1770-1850). You can read the poem here. I find it remarkable that the poet could make the scene come alive and the daffodils dance with his prose.

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

Photo taken on 13 March 2015 at Yangmingshan National Park, Taiwan

About khorhmin

Just a curious girl, Feeling my way, Through life in a twirl, Enjoying each and every day. Moving fast, in a swirl Each and every day Publishing is my world Writing, editing, yay!
This entry was posted in Haiku, nature, Poem, Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Poetry Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beacon & Field

  1. gorgeous! welcome back ❤

  2. pattyalcala says:

    Great haiku. Thank you for the Wordsworth poem. I see those beautiful yellow and white flowers swaying and dancing.

  3. Pingback: RonovanWrites Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt Challenge 36 Review | ronovanwrites

Leave a Reply

