#BeWoW – Diary of a Quirky Girl, 7.04.2015 – First 10 km Run

Today, I decided to kill two birds with one stone. I combined my write-up for #BeWoW and the Blogging A to Z Challenge. #BeWoW stands for Be Wonderful on Wednesday. It is a blogging community initiative to share positivity with others.

F for FIRST 10 KM RUN

Here’s the version I made with Adobe Illustrator. Please click on the image to see a larger version with larger font.

Diary of a Quirky Girl, 7.04.2015

For those who prefer to read the text as a plain blog post, here it is:

Diary of a Quirky Girl, 7.04.2015

First 10 km Run

Some people sign up for 10 km on their very first run. But I took my time. I signed up for quite a number of 5 km runs. Then a 7 km run. After about 6 months, I finally signed up for my first 10 km. It was the KL City Day Run 2015, held on 8 February 2015. It had rained the night before and large puddles were everywhere, but the weather was good on the morning of the run.

The run started at Padang Merbok and took me past the National Bank, then to the hilly roads of Bukit Tunku. It was an exclusive neighbourhood full of stately white colonial bungalows and newly-built modern and contemporary bungalows, co-existing side by side. Some of these roads were scenic but steep! I found the views highly interesting. So much so that at one point, I tripped and fell because I was admiring a house with guards and guard dogs outside. 😉  I think that was between 6 km and 8 km into the run. I only grazed one knee though, because I landed on my hands, which held my body off the ground. I had to put one knee down because the momentum kept propelling me forward. If you can believe it, I learnt how to fall like this in a yoga class. 🙂  A lady who ran passed me said I should get medical attention from St. John’s ambulance volunteers in front. And lo and behold, they were really in front – about 10 m to 20 m ahead of me. So, I went over to them and showed them my knee. One nice volunteer applied antiseptic solution on it, while I was standing. I did not bother to sit down because I still wanted to continue the run. I told them I tripped because I was admiring the scenery. They all laughed. Who joins a run to admire the scenery, right?

Then, between 8 km and 9 km, I saw some white flowers blooming on the young trees beside the road and decided to pluck a bunch. To me, they had a subtle, light perfume, and I sniffed at them all the way to the finish line.

It was great to get my first 10 km finisher medal. A wonderful day indeed. I was worried because I did not have time to train for it, but my worries were unfounded, because I could still run across the finishing line.

There were many stalls populated by sponsors at the event venue. I visited the stalls out of curiosity. Then I suddenly heard a woman’s voice calling, “Miss… Miss…” Who would be calling me? But it got louder, so I turned around. A kindly malay lady offered me a can of malt drink from her goodie bag. She said it was not her kind of thing. So, now I had two cans. LOL. A good day indeed! I went home happy as a lark. 🙂

The medal I earned for my first 10 km run :)

The medal I earned for my first 10 km run and the white flowers I was talking about 🙂

About khorhmin

Khor Hui Min thinks of life as a continuous learning process and believes in a healthy balance in work and life. She is a freelance writer, who is active in publishing poems and short stories. She moonlights as a facepainter for the Malaysian Nature Society, and also enjoys creating and carving pottery. She has a Bachelor of Computer Science and Master of Science (Environmental Science). You can read more of her writing at https://projectprose.wordpress.com/ and https://huiminskitchen.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in #BeWoW, A-to-Z Challenge 2015, Biographical, Diary of a Quirky Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #BeWoW – Diary of a Quirky Girl, 7.04.2015 – First 10 km Run

  1. Linda Ann says:

    Congratulations on the 10K. It feels great to finish and pick up the medal! I still remember my first 5K … and now I am training for another half marathon. (Yes, running becomes an addiction.)

    I’m doing 5 blogs for the Ato Z Blog Challenge this year. (I did 10 last year, but it was a LOT.) Hope you’ll stop by at: Heart of a Ready Writer, Kicking MS to the Curb, The Mane Point: A Haven for Horse Lovers, Nicker and Ink Poetry & Humor, or Practically at Home. Happy A to Z April!

Leave a Reply

