Use Somebody

For my 21st post for the  Blogging A to Z Challenge, I wanted to put together a photo essay on the UNESCO World Heritage Site called Bao’an Temple in Taipei, but since my laptop has gone into the ICU and will only be out in a few days’ time and my photos are inside the hard disk, I looked around for an alternative idea. Then, I thought, why not do another piece on music?

U for Use Somebody

I decided to feature a rock song by Kings of Leon called ‘Use Somebody’. From the title alone, we might misunderstand that the song is about the selfish intention or action of using other people to achieve one’s own ends, but that’s not what the song is about at all.

Written by frontman Caleb Followill, the song is about being lonely on the road and longing for somebody to hold. He said on his band’s website, “It’s about being far from home.” In 2008, Caleb told Uncut magazine, “The meat of the song was written on tour. When I came up with ‘I could use somebody’, I didn’t know if I was talking about a person or home or God.”

The song highlights a part of human nature – people are social creatures that prefer to exist in social groups, building meaningful relationships with others, instead of being loners.

‘Use Somebody’ topped the Pop Songs/Mainstream Top 40, Alternative Songs Triple A and Adult Top 40 charts, and it was the first song to top all four airplay tallies since Green Day’s ‘Boulevard of Broken Dreams’ (2004-5). The song is track #4 on the album ‘Only By The Night’.

To see more facts about the song, click here.

The Lyrics

Use Somebody

I’ve been roaming around
Always looking down at all I see
Painted faces, fill the places I can’t reach

You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody

Someone like you, and all you know, and how you speak
Countless lovers under cover of the street

You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody
Someone like you

Off in the night, while you live it up, I’m off to sleep
Waging wars to shape the poet and the beat
I hope it’s gonna make you notice
I hope it’s gonna make you notice

Someone like me
Someone like me
Someone like me, somebody

Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody

I’ve been roaming around,
Always looking down at all I see

Songwriters
FOLLOWILL, JARED / FOLLOWILL, MATTHEW / FOLLOWILL, NATHAN / FOLLOWILL, CALEB

The video

About khorhmin

Just a curious girl, Feeling my way, Through life in a twirl, Enjoying each and every day. Moving fast, in a swirl Each and every day Publishing is my world Writing, editing, yay!
This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge 2015, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

