Viva La Vida

My 22nd post for the  Blogging A to Z Challenge is on a song by Coldplay called ‘Viva La Vida’.

V for Viva La Vida

In an interview with Rolling Stone, frontman Chris Martin explained that the song and album title ‘Viva La Vida’ came from a phrase he saw on a painting by Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. ‘Viva La Vida’ means ‘long live life’ or ‘the life lives’. He loved the boldness of the painting, which you can see here. Frida painted the piece in 1954, shortly before she died. The words ‘Sandías con leyenda: Viva la vida’ (literal translation: ‘Watermelons with legend: The life lives’) were part of the painting.

The song lyrics feature cavalries, missionaries and kings. According to Bassist Guy Berryman, “It’s a story about a king who’s lost his kingdom, and all the album’s artwork is based on the idea of revolutionaries and guerrillas. There’s this slightly anti-authoritarian viewpoint that’s crept into some of the lyrics and it’s some of the payoff between being surrounded by governments on one side, but also we’re human beings with emotions and we’re all going to die and the stupidity of what we have to put up with every day. Hence the album title.”

To read more about the facts and meanings behind the song, click here.

The Lyrics

Viva La Vida

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning, I sleep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own

I used to roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
Listen as the crowd would sing
“Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!”

One minute I held the key
Next the walls were closed on me
And I discovered that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt and pillars of sand

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can’t explain
Once you go there was never, never a honest word
And that was when I ruled the world

It was a wicked and wild wind
Blew down the doors to let me in
Shattered windows and the sound of drums
People couldn’t believe what I’d become

Revolutionaries wait
For my head on a silver plate
Just a puppet on a lonely string
Oh who would ever want to be king?

[Chorus]
I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Calvary choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can’t explain
I know Saint Peter won’t call my name
Never rule this world
But that was when I ruled the world

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

[Chorus]

Writer/s: MARTIN, CHRISTOPHER ANTHONY JOHN / BERRYMAN, GUY RUPERT / BUCKLAND, JONATHAN MARK / CHAMPION, WILLIAM

The video

About khorhmin

Just a curious girl, Feeling my way, Through life in a twirl, Enjoying each and every day. Moving fast, in a swirl Each and every day Publishing is my world Writing, editing, yay!
This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge 2015, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Viva La Vida

  1. lancequadras says:

    I love this song. This really gives me a positive vibe every time i listen..!! Thanks for reminding me. I’ll hear it today too. Have a nice day.

  2. tara tyler says:

    cold play is one of my favorite bands, close to the top! they create a mood, take negative and find hope – live life to the fullest and find the positive in what you have been dealt. moving!
    great choice for v day! happy a to z-ing!

Leave a Reply

