Man’s Best Friend

I went for a morning walk today, and along the way, I met two dogs. The two males were friendly. They came up to me. I offered them my hand. They each smelled it, then gave it a lick. That meant they liked me. I pet each on the head, then went on my way. However, they started to follow me, especially the white and brown one, who walked beside me, downhill and uphill again. In fact, he sent me home, all the way to my doorstep. Such a sweet doggy. So this morning’s poem is dedicated to my new-found friends. 🙂

Little dogs sleeping at our boutique guest house in Old Town Baisha, Yunnan Province, China (13 October 2013)

Little dogs sleeping at our boutique guest house in Old Town Baisha, Yunnan Province, China (13 October 2013)

Man’s best friend

Eloquently expressive eyes
Never wanting to say goodbye
Fluffy fur, so velvety soft
As soft as the sheets in my loft
Adoration so endearing
Looking forward to seeing
Skipping and running, round and round
As if I let him out of the pound
Coming home every day
To love at the doorstep, named Jay

Khor Hui Min
24 August 2015

About khorhmin

Khor Hui Min thinks of life as a continuous learning process and believes in a healthy balance in work and life. She is a freelance writer, who is active in publishing poems and short stories. She moonlights as a facepainter for the Malaysian Nature Society, and also enjoys creating and carving pottery. She has a Bachelor of Computer Science and Master of Science (Environmental Science). You can read more of her writing at https://projectprose.wordpress.com/ and https://huiminskitchen.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in #MYWriters, Lyric poem, Poem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Man’s Best Friend

  1. Beautiful and made me smile, smile, smile! We have many dogs on the island who roam free (they do have homes to go to) and they follow friendly, dog-loving tourists for the day. It adds something to their journey and their memory of visiting the island I am sure.

Leave a Reply

