Home

It’s has been a very eventful and hectic time, and as a result, I have not posted anything for perhaps two to three weeks. My apologies for the silence. Perhaps you will find the following poem an enjoyable read. I wrote it a while back for the Malaysian Writers FB group poetry challenge, which happens every Wednesday. The prompt word was ‘home’, and it made me think of what I defined as my home.

Flower Dome, Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

HOME

Home is where the heart is
It is with me; wherever I go
Home is not a turtle’s shell
It does not require moving
Home is not a nest of grass
It does not require building
Home is not filled with objects
It does not require warehousing
Home is a feeling
It comes from within
A feeling of comfort
A sense of belonging
Where I am
I take home with me


Khor Hui Min
10 September 2015

About khorhmin

Freelance writer. Poet. Blogger. Facepainter. Potter. Photographer. Shutterstock contributor. You can follow me @MinKhor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home

  1. Love your examples used to describe what home is not. Thank you for sharing this, good choice to resurface with. Hope all is well and slows down for you soon. Xx

Leave a Reply

