A Time to Celebrate Volunteerism

I wrote an article for the July 2017 issue of the Pencinta Alam, the national newsletter of the Malaysian Nature Society (MNS) on the recent Volunteer Appreciation Day, organised by the Selangor Branch of MNS. The article is published on pages 2 and 3 of the newsletter. Hope you like it. ūüôā

PA July 2017 p.2PA July 2017 p.3

Here is the text for the article in full:

A Time to Celebrate Volunteerism

Article by Khor Hui Min

From 20th to 21th May 2017, I attended the Malaysian Nature Society Selangor Branch’s Volunteer Appreciation Day at Ulu Tupai, Taiping. We stayed at the Ulu Tupai Waterfall Homestay for a night. It was a quaint little cluster of traditional wooden village houses on stilts located right next to a large and pristine waterfall. As a non-profit organisation, and a membership-driven organisation, this is one of the ways MNS (Selangor Branch) shows its appreciation to volunteers annually. For this, I would like to express my appreciation for their effort and thoughtfulness, especially the organising committee.

We spent the afternoon chilling out at the waterfall and getting to know the representatives from the different special interest groups. In the evening, after dinner, we went to the Night Safari at the Taiping Zoo and seemed to have walked for a few hours, following the guide on foot. The last time I visited Taiping Zoo was many years ago, but I always remembered the animals to be beautiful and well fed. Their coats were glossy and they came when our guide called out to them. They were healthy and well taken care of.

After we came back from the zoo, a group of enthusiastic nocturnal members went herping with Steven Wong, the coordinator of the Selangor Branch Herp Group till after midnight.

The next morning, a hike to a waterfall was arranged, and a sizeable group went. Since our chalet was already situated next to a huge waterfall and cascades, I decided to remain there to dunk myself in the waterfall and snap photos of insects.

I have forgotten the year I first stepped into an MNS meeting, but it was a Selangor Branch AGM at Rimbu Ilmu in University Malaya, and Khairul Anuar was elected Chairman of Selangor Branch that year. I attended at the invitation of Saras Kumar, the then Marine SIG coordinator. Since then, I have been an MNS member and volunteer. The first time I picked up a brush to try my hand at facepainting was at Tioman Island Fest 2006. It has been over 10 years. Through the years, my volunteer roles have changed. Faces have changed in the ranks of the volunteers and among the staff of MNS headquarters. However, the spirit of volunteerism and concern for the environment remains ever strong.

MNS events are programmes and outings I look forward to, because it is not only an opportunity to go into the outdoors, but also a chance to catch up with old friends and make new ones, while spreading awareness about the importance of the environment among the visitors to the event. I am proud to say that many of my friends are volunteers of MNS, and sometimes I feel that this group of long-term volunteers are like a family of like-minded individuals brought together and bound by the love of nature.

I hope MNS will grow and flourish with the changing times, and still be the oldest and biggest Malaysian-grown environmental NGO many years from now.


 

To see the whole newsletter, click here.

To find out more about the Malaysian Nature Society, click here.

About khorhmin

Freelance writer. Poet. Blogger. Facepainter. Potter. Photographer. Shutterstock contributor. You can follow me @MinKhor.
This entry was posted in Article, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

